Composer:   Jaakko Mäntyjärvi
Arranger:   NA
Publisher:   Sulasol
Edition:   343
Voicing:   Various


Rick Kvam
Choral Arts Ensemble
R&R Chair Community Choirs

1. Come Away Death [3:00]
2. Lullaby [3:00]
3. Double, Double, Toil and Trouble [3:30]
4. Full Fathom Five [2:25]
SSAATTBB a cappella

Composer Jaakko Mäntyjärvi also holds a degree in English and Linguistics and has worked as a professional Finnish/English translator. His familiarity with all things English perhaps explains his affinity for Shakespeare. These pieces, featuring shifting rhythms, glissandi, and eerie harmonies are just terrific.

These a cappella works are challenging harmonically (highly chromatic, but never too wild vertically) and often divide up to SSAATTBB. Some warm-ups drilling half steps, whole tones, and diminished and augmented triads would be useful!