Composer:   Dale Trumbore
Arranger:   NA
Publisher:   Self-published
Voicing:   SSAATTBB
Setting:   a cappella


Michael McGaghie
Macalester College
R&R Chair College & University

Imagined by the composer as a “secular requiem,” this 35-minute work takes its texts from three living poets (all women.) The eight movements can be performed in any order; some suggestions are offered in the score. They may also be excerpted individually—”To See It” is a particularly exquisite example of the composer’s gifts in text-setting.

Her rich, accessible language modulates frequently between tonal centers. Performers should note the modes in use and the places where one mode shifts to another. An effective performance of the full work requires an ear for balance and a well-considered sense of pacing—especially the length of each fermata, the time between movements, and attention to the composer’s relative tempo indications.

Performance Link: