Composer:   Igor Stravinsky
Arranger:   NA
Publisher:   Boosey & Hawkes
Edition:   LCB-17
Voicing:   SATB
Setting:   Accompanied


Harry Mechell
Winona State University 1993
R&R Chair College & University

Mass (1948) by Igor Stravinsky is a setting of the Ordinary of the Mass for mixed chorus, soloists, and a double wind quintet (2 oboes, bassoons, trumpets, and English horn, and 3 trombones). It is a setting in Latin, greatly influenced by plainchant and other Medieval characteristics, such as the use of church modes, organum-like passages, canons, melismas, open cadences and antiphony. The soprano and alto parts were intended for children ‘s voices, but women ‘s voices will work. Dissonant at times, the harmonies can also be tonal. Three of the movements are modal. The overall effect of this seventeen minute setting is one of serenity and introspection. The excellent craftsmanship of the composer is obvious. Excellent wind players are necessary. A challenge for any advanced choral ensemble.