Composer:   Ralph Vaughan Williams
Arranger:   NA
Publisher:   Galaxy Music Corporation
Edition:   1.5000
Voicing:   SATB
Setting:   Accompanied


Teresa Ashworth
MSCTC – Fergus Falls 2001
R&R Chair College & University

This sacred selection is an excellent opener for a concert. The parts are accessible and it has divisi in all voicing to attain an eight-part ending. The lento section presents a haunting response and contrast to the opening allegro section. The tenor and bass create interest in this section with the women echoing, “Sing ye praises.” Range consideration as the soprano highest note is b-flat 3 and the bass lowest is F. The brass and percussion arrangement creates a fanfare texture when used.