Composer:   Johannes Brahms
Arranger:   Sally Herman
Publisher:   Roger Dean
Edition:   15/1142
Voicing:   SATB
Setting:   Accompanied


Robert Sieving
Apollo High School, St. Cloud 1994
R&R Chair High School Choirs

This ravishing piece for four voices and piano, is No. 1 of the four quartets op. 92 (1877). The rapt stillness of the night is invoked by the piano introduction which leads into ever thicker vocal textures by way of one of Brahms’ favorite Romantic modulations (down a third). This piece can be in reach of an experienced high school choir or chamber ensemble. The piano accompaniment is demanding not so much for its technical difficulty, but by its expressive requirements. This edition contains editorial suggestions for phrasing – which may recommend it for some. There is an error in m.4 of the piano accompaniment which is fairly obvious.