Composer:   Frank Ferko
Arranger:   NA
Publisher:   E.C. Schirmer
Edition:   4988
Voicing:   SATB div
Setting:   A Cappella


Kathy Romey
University of Minnesota 1998
R&R Chair College & University

The Hildegaard Motets include nine movements for a cappella chorus based on texts by the Medieval German Abyss Hildegard von Bingen and were commissioned in celebration of the “Tenth Anniversary Season of His Majestie’s Clerkes.” Combining the Medieval style of plainchant with the contemporary idiom of dissonance and tone clusters, O verbum Patris captures the essence of Hildegard’s poetry in this sustained, Iyric motet for counter-tenor and chorus.