Composer:   Ēriks Ešenvalds
Arranger:   NA
Publisher:   Musica Baltica
Edition:   1265
Voicing:   SSAATTBB
Setting:   solo voice, percussion


Rick Kvam
Choral Arts Ensemble
R&R Chair Community Choirs

In her short and tragic life, Sara Teasdale produced a number of poems beautifully suited to musical settings—poems that won her the very first Pulitzer Prize awarded for poetry, in 1918. Commissioned in 2012 to write for the University of Louisville Collegiate Chorale, Ēriks Ešenvalds picked Teasdale’s nostalgic poem, Only in Sleep, to create a sweet homage to childhood. One needs a fine lyric soprano soloist, and a choir that can sustain and shape phrases in eight parts (aided by straightforward harmonies and homophonic textures). This piece can touch hearts.